Prix Indianocéanie

Indian Ocean Commission (IOC)
Describe the main features of the policy/measure: 

The IOC is an intergovernmental organization comprising five (5) member states: The Union of Comoros, France/Reunion Island, Republic of Madagascar, Republic of Mauritius and the Republic of Seychelles. Created by the Port Louis Declaration in 1982, the IOC was institutionalized in Seychelles in 1984 by the General Cooperation Agreement - Victoria Agreement.

With the support of a dozen international partners, the IOC works towards regional solidarity, through cooperation projects covering a wide range of sector, one of which is culture.

One active project of the IOC is the 'Prix Indianoceanie', first edition of which was launched on 20 June 2018. It was the birth of a call for unpublished writings, in French, from writers residing in the islands of the Indian Ocean.
The opening of the second edition was launched on 17 April 2019. The award ceremony took place on 17 December 2019 in Madagascar and rewarded an author from Mauritius for her novel "Misere".

The 'Prix Indianoceanie' is a call for papers to write text in French, with genderless imposed, bearing on questions concerning the area of Indian Ocean. The winner should be an original literary work and should not be edited yet, inspired by this geographical and linguistics cultural space, as shared reference base. The "Prix Indianoceanie" is an opportunity to promote the Indiaoceanie, to contribute to the promotion and sharing of its literatures and strengthen the network of actors.

What are the results achieved so far through the implementation of the policy/measure?: 

For the first edition of 2018, there were some sixty entries comprising tales, novels, theatre, poems collection among others.

The Award winner was Jean Pierre Haga Andriamampandry from the Republic of Madagascar and the Award Ceremony was held on 29 November 2018 in Mauritius.

For the second edition, held in 2019, there were some fifty entries, and again all genres were represented, i.e. through tales, novels, theatre, poems collection among others.

The Award Winner was Davina Ittoo from the Republic of Mauritius and the Award Ceremony was held on 17 December 2019 in Madagascar. These novels are available in libraries of the different islands of the Indian Ocean.

Financial resources allocated to the policy/measure in USD: 

20,000 USD

Partner(s) engaged in the implementation of the measure: 
Name of partnerType of entity
- Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie
Public Sector
Conseil départemental de la Réunion
Public Sector
Blue Sky
Private Sector
Alliance Francaise Antananarivo
Public Sector
Has the implementation of the policy/measure been evaluated?: 
If yes, what are the main conclusions/recommendations?: 

It has been proposed to launch the 'Prix Indianoceanie' every two (2) years to give writers time, have more funding to improve the communication and to launch a price for young people.